The Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro administers more than 60 scholarship opportunities, including many that support graduating high school seniors. Scholarships range from one-time $1,000 awards up to renewable awards of $10,000 every year for four years. Scholarships are awarded based on a range of factors depending on the scholarship, including need, talent, academic achievement, field-of-study focus, and athletics

List of Scholarship Opportunities

Bill Lee Memorial Scholarship

For senior basketball players participating in the HAECO Invitational (formerly known as the TIMCO Invitational Tournament) who are recommended by their coaches. Applications are generally due in October/early November of each academic year.

Contact: Leigh Hebbard, Director of Athletics, Guilford County School System

Charlie Harville Memorial Scholarship

In memory of a prominent sports broadcaster, this scholarship is available to senior baseball and softball players attending Guilford County high schools who are recommended by their coaches. The awards ceremony takes place each spring at a Greensboro Grasshoppers home baseball game. Information about the scholarship will be given to the coaches at the appropriate time. Please contact your high school baseball and softball coach for information.

David Caldwell Scholarship Awards

For rising seniors at David Caldwell Academy, Greensboro College and Guilford College who are committed to academic excellence and whose work focuses on religion and/or history.

David Caldwell Academy, 2900 Horse Pen Creek Road, Greensboro, NC 27410
Greensboro College, 815 W. Market Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Guilford College, 5800 W. Friendly Avenue, Greensboro, NC 27410

Helen and Anthony Guidone Scholarship

Open to Jeannette Senior High School seniors (Jeannette, Pennsylvania) who demonstrate good character, financial need, and a strong work ethic. $2,500 per year for four years to students in good standing.

Contact: Robert Murphy, Guidance Office, Jeannette Senior High School

Jason Christopher James Memorial Scholarship

Open to seniors graduating from Guilford County high schools who have demonstrated special interest and aptitude in foreign affairs, service to the country, living and working abroad, and the international relations field. After you log in to our online application tool, select "Jason Christopher James Memorial Scholarship" from the list. Deadline: February 8, 2018.

John Carlton Myatt Writing Scholarship Fund

Open to a Greensboro graduating senior who displays a creative, innovative and courageous spirit in writing and exhibits those skills through school and community activities to effect change. Download the applicationDeadline: April 15, 2018.

Contact: Will Sykes (336-870-9695 or

Applications also available from Guilford County High School English or creative writing departments.

John R. Kernodle, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

For seniors graduating from Guilford County schools who agree to serve for at least three years as a full-time teacher in N.C. public schools. Special consideration will be given to students attending North Carolina colleges and universities and to those who agree to teach in Guilford County. After you log in to our online tool, select "John R. Kernodle Memorial Scholarship" from the list. Deadline: February 17, 2018.

Nicholas Samuel Fragola Art Award

Established in 2003 in memory of Grimsley High School Alumnus Nicholas Samuel Fragola, this scholarship supports an artist accepted into the University of North Carolina at Greensboro BFA Painting Concentration.

Contact: Art Department, the University of North Carolina at Greensboro

The Ivan Battle Scholarship at the Music Academy of North Carolina

Music scholarships are available for students of all ages, interests and proficiency levels. Auditions are held each May for the upcoming year.

Contact: Music Academy of North Carolina

Stephanie Taylor Moore Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2008 by Julian P. Moore and Robert P. Moore in memory of Stephanie Taylor Moore. The scholarship is for graduating seniors of Caswell and Rockingham Counties and alternates each year between the two counties. Each even year in the Spring, the scholarship is for graduating seniors of Caswell County. Each odd year in the Spring, the scholarship is for graduating seniors of Rockingham County. The applicant must demonstrate financial need, academic achievement, high moral character, and must attend a college in North Carolina. The 2018 scholarship is for graduating seniors from Caswell County. 

Thomas and Bettie O'Briant Memorial Scholarship

Founded in 1983 to honor Thomas G. O’Briant, who was a community leader in Guilford County and an avid golfer at the Cardinal Golf and Country Club, and Bettie O’Briant, who passed away in 2007, the scholarship is available to students graduating from a Guilford County high school with a preference for those with financial need. Students eligible for support from Say Yes Guilford are welcome to apply. After you log in to the online application tool, please select "Thomas and Bettie O'Briant Memorial Scholarship" from the list. Deadline May 1, 2018. 

The Tyler David Williams Memorial Scholarship

Established to honor the memory of Tyler David Williams who was killed September 3, 2011, at the age of 14, the scholarship was established by Tyler’s parents, David and Ashley Williams, and Tyler’s sister, Spencer Catherine Williams. The scholarship is open to Guilford County graduating seniors who exude Tyler David Williams’ “Laws of Life” of honesty, compassion and wisdom. Deadline: March 3, 2018.

Westchester Academy/Kumar Debate and Chemistry Awards

For students of Westchester Academy. Contact: Westchester Academy, 204 Pine Tree Lane, High Point, NC 27265, 336-869-2128

William Bryant Evans and Lucy Teague Evans Memorial Scholarship

Priority is given to high school senior students who live in the McLeansville area and are pursuing an undergraduate degree in science or the humanities. The applicant must also demonstrate financial need and academic achievement. $1,000 scholarships are renewable if the recipient maintains a cumulative grade point average of 2.75.  After you log in to the online application tool, please select "William Bryant Evans and Lucy Teague Evans Memorial Scholarship" from the list. Deadline: March 3, 2018.

Wolfgang Häfele Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to graduating high school seniors who are children of full-time employees of Häfele America Co. Recipients are determined by the Selection Committee of the Community Foundation. After you log in to our online application tool, please select "Wolfgang Häfele Memorial Scholarship" from the list. Deadline: March 3, 2018

York David Anthony Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1997 by Gloria and Roger Anthony in memory of their son, York David. This award is to provide financial assistance to students (high school or college) from Guilford County who will or are currently pursuing a degree in Engineering. The $2,500 scholarship is renewable. This scholarship is offered every four years. Applications will be accepted Spring 2018 for consideration. Deadline: March 3, 2018